Burning The Ground: DjPaulT's 80's and 90's Remixes

80's and 90's 12 Inch Mixes

Archive for the 'Bucks Fizz' Category

Bucks Fizz – New Beginning (Mamba Seyra) (Ian Levine Remix) (US 12″)

Posted by DjPaulT on 24th January 2017


“New Beginning (Mamba Seyra)” (often referred to as simply “New Beginning”) is a 1986 single by UK pop group Bucks Fizz. It was a comeback hit (their first release on Polydor Records), achieving their highest chart placing for four years.

The song was written by Mike Myers and Tony Gibber and was produced by Myers along with the group’s regular producer Andy Hill. According to the group, the recording of the song took an unusually long time due to the vocal tracks. As well as the group recording their vocals repeatedly, there was also a children’s choir and gospel choir used on the track. The musicians in the studio also were used on distant back-up vocals. Member Cheryl Baker remembers one version where Hill instructed them to deliberately sing out of tune, which she found difficult. The original mix of the song was completed in February 1986.

“New Beginning” (as it is very often more simply referred) was originally recorded a year earlier by Force 8 – who were actually pop group The Dooleys under an assumed name. The theme of the song is one of hope where the narrator talks about building a happier world, with some parts of the song sung in Swahili and Spanish. The video for the single depicts the group performing the song in a Metropolis-type setting backed by dancers and drummers – due to the heavy drum sound on the track.

The song was released in May 1986 and was seen as a comeback single as it was their first release in eight months and featured new member Shelley Preston who had replaced Jay Aston a year earlier. It was also their first release on new record label, Polydor after their five-year contract with RCA had finished. The song was notable for its full and lavish production and multi-layered vocal work and received much praise from critics as well as becoming very popular on radio. The song became a big hit in the Summer of 1986. After entering at No.55, the song rose sharply to No.24 becoming instantly their biggest hit for three years. Two weeks later the single entered the top 10 at number eight where it stayed the following week. The song remained on the charts for 10 weeks and became the 93rd biggest-seller of the year. “New Beginning” achieved their highest chart position for four years, but was also their last UK top 40 hit. In the United States the single did not chart.

New Beginning (Mamba Seyra) (Ian Levine Remix) 9:28
Remix – Ian Levine

New Beginning (Mamba Seyra) (Ian Levine Remix – Dub Version) 8:18
Remix – Ian Levine

New Beginning (Mamba Seyra) 4:07

Vinyl: Near Mint
Sleeve: Near Mint

Label: Polydor ‎– 885 274-1
Format: Vinyl, 12″, 33 ⅓ RPM
Country: US
Released: 1986
Genre: Electronic
Style: Synth-pop

Producer – Andy Hill
Written-By – Mike Myers (2), Tony Gibber

Special versions from the LP “WRITING ON THE WALL”

Find the 12″ on DISCOGS

Turntable: Pro-Ject Debut Carbon (DC)
Cartridge: Ortofon 2M
Stylus: Ortofon 2M Bronze
Isolation: Auralex Acoustics ISO-Tone Turntable Isolation Platform
Platter: Pro-Ject Acryl-It platter
Stabilizer: Pro-Ject Record Puck 
Phono Pre-amp:
Bellari VP130 Tube Phono Preamp
Tung-Sol 12AX7ECC803-S Gold Electron Tube
ESI Juli@
Record Cleaning:
VPI HW 16.5 Record Cleaning Machine
Artwork Scans:
Brother MFC-6490CW Professional Series Scanner

Recording/Editing: Adobe Audition 3.0 (Recording)
Down Sampling: iZotope RX Advanced 2
Artwork Editor: Adobe Photoshop CS5
Click Removal: Manual
FLAC/MP3 Conversion: dBpoweramp
M3U Playlist: Playlist Creator

All vinyl rips are recorded @ 32bit/float
FLAC (Level Eight)
MP3 (320kbps)
Artwork scanned at 600dpi

Username: btg
Password: burningtheground

You can help show your support for this blog by making a donation using PayPal. Thank you for your help.

Tags: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Bucks Fizz | 18 Comments »